Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

African Politics and Development Policy – Professor Dr. Alexander Stroh

Print page
Election Wall
EAC Headquarters Arusha Flag Parade
Chief's Palace in Electoral Campaign in Ghana
Electoral Campaign in Mauritius 2019 with former PM Béranger
Assemblée Nationale du Bénin
Interviewing a Mechanic in Ghana

Political Science: African Politics & Development Policy

.

The junior chair of political science specialized in "African Politics and Development Policy" is part of the interdisciplinary research focus on Africa in Bayreuth. It belongs to the Institute of African Studies (IAS) and is organizationally affiliated with the Department of Sociology. The chair is involved in the Bayreuth International Graduate School of African Studies (BIGSAS) and is closely linked to sociological and ethnological teaching.

The aim is to provide students with an access to the state, society and development in Africa from a political science perspective. It deals with theories, concepts and topics of particular relevance to development issues on the continent. With the methods of comparative political science and policy-analysis in the field of development, students are taught not only well-founded research skills but also practice-oriented knowledge.

Linking theory and practice is the leitmotif for teaching within the department. Classical formats of teaching - seminars and lectures - are supplemented by excursions to important institutions and organizations in development politics as well as discussions with practitioners.

Research centers on democratization issues in Africa. It focuses on actors and processes that are of importance for both political and broader socio-economic development. These include amongst others political parties and electoral processes as well as top-level judges between politicization of the judiciary and judicialization of politics.


Aktuelle Publikationen

"The 'Numbers Game': Strategic Reactions to Results-Based Development Assistance in Ghana"
by Matthew Sabbi & Alexander Stroh (2020), Studies in Comparative International Development (online first).


Alexander Stroh (2018), Sustaining and Jeopardizing a Credible Arbiter: Judicial Networks in Benin’s Consolidating Democracy, IPSR 39 (5), 600-615.

Björn Dressel, Raúl Sánchez Urribarrí & Alexander Stroh (2017): The Informal Dimension of Judicial Politics: A Relational Perspective, ARLSS 13: 413-440.

"Politics has to be everyone's buisness; 
not be left to the professionals."

Quote by Gustav Heinemann, German Federal President, 1969-74

Webmaster: Prof.Dr. Alexander Stroh

Facebook Twitter Youtube-Kanal Instagram Blog Contact

Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Kulturwissenschaftliche Fakultät

Politik Afrikas und Entwicklungspolitik – Professor Dr. Alexander Stroh

Seite drucken
Election Wall
EAC Headquarters Arusha Flag Parade
Chief's Palace in Electoral Campaign in Ghana
Electoral Campaign in Mauritius 2019 with former PM Béranger
Assemblée Nationale du Bénin
Interviewing a Mechanic in Ghana

Politikwissenschaft: Politik Afrikas & Entwicklungspolitik

.

Die Juniorprofessur für Politikwissenschaft mit der Spezialisierung auf „Politik Afrikas und Entwicklungspolitik“ ist Teil des interdisziplinären Bayreuther Afrikaschwerpunktes, gehört zum Institut für Afrika Studien (IAS) und ist organisatorisch der Fachgruppe Soziologie angeschlossen. Sie ist am Exzellenzcluster Africa Multiple und der  Bayreuth International Graduate School of African Studies (BIGSAS) beteiligt und mit soziologischen und ethnologischen Lehrangeboten eng verknüpft.

Ziel ist es, den Studierenden einen politikwissenschaftlichen Zugang zu Staat, Gesellschaft und Entwicklung in Afrika zu vermitteln. Dabei werden Theorien, Begriffe und Themen behandelt, die für Entwicklungsfragen auf dem Kontinent besondere Relevanz haben. Mit den Methoden der vergleichenden Politikwissenschaft und der Analyse von entwicklungspolitischen Fragen wird den Studierenden neben fundierten fachwissenschaftlichen Fähigkeiten auch praxisorientiertes Wissen vermittelt.

Theorie und Praxis angemessen zu verknüpfen ist das Leitmotiv für die Lehre in der Facheinheit. Klassische Formate der Lehre – Seminare und Vorlesungen – werden deshalb durch Exkursionen zu wichtigen entwicklungspolitischen Institutionen bzw. Organisationen sowie durch Diskussionen mit Gästen aus der entwicklungspolitischen Praxis ergänzt.

Die Forschung konzentriert sich auf Fragen der Demokratisierung in Afrika. Sie nimmt Akteure und Prozesse in den Fokus, die sowohl für die politische als auch für die breitere sozio-ökonomische Entwicklung von großer Bedeutung sind. Hierzu zählen u.a. politische Parteien und Wahlprozesse sowie höchste Richter zwischen Politisierung der Justiz und Judizialisierung der Politik.


Cover der "Studies in Comparative International Development"

"The 'Numbers Game': Strategic Reactions to Results-Based Development Assistance in Ghana"
by Matthew Sabbi & Alexander Stroh (2020), Studies in Comparative International Development (online first).


Alexander Stroh (2018), Sustaining and Jeopardizing a Credible Arbiter: Judicial Networks in Benin’s Consolidating Democracy, IPSR 39 (5), 600-615.

Björn Dressel, Raúl Sánchez Urribarrí & Alexander Stroh (2017): The Informal Dimension of Judicial Politics: A Relational Perspective, ARLSS 13: 413-440.

"Politik muss jedermanns Sache werden.
Man darf sie nicht den Fachleuten überlassen."

Gustav Heinemann

Verantwortlich für die Redaktion: Prof.Dr. Alexander Stroh

Facebook Twitter Youtube-Kanal Instagram Blog Kontakt